Harvard University Logo HARVARD.EDU
Skip to main content

The BHI would like to congratulate Peter Galison for winning the American Physical Society’s 2018 Abraham Pais Prize for History of Physics.

A message from BHI Director, Avi Loeb: 
It gives me great pleasure to report that our BHI colleague, Peter Galison, won the “2018 Abraham Pais Prize for History of Physics” of the American Physical Society. The citation of the award reads: “for outstanding contributions to the history of physics, especially for elucidating the complicated roles of experiment, instrumentation, and theory in the production of scientific knowledge, and for sharing his insights via award-winning scholarship, generous mentoring, and innovative filmmaking.”

Please visit the American Physical Society’s website for more details.

Beyond the Horizon. Join us for the 6th Annual Black Hole Initiative Conference.

May 17-19, 2023

Sheraton Commander Hotel, Cambridge, MA USA

Crossing the horizons of Black Hole Studies from the perspective of Astrophysics, Physics, Mathematics, Philosophy, and History of Science. Featuring: Alejandro Castro, Andrew Cristofoli, Andrea Puhm, Andrew MacFayden, Ann C. Thresher, Caitlin Witt, Chris Akers, Daniel Harlow, Elena Giorgi, Eleni Kontou, Erin Kara, Jan Sbierski, Jeremy Butterfield, Jessica Lu, Kelly Holley-Bockelmann, Laura Cadonati, Lorenzo Sironi, Lynn Grimwell, Michael Johnson, Natalie Paquette, Roland Bittleston, Smander Naoz, Suvi Gezari, Vijay Balasubramanian, and more!