Harvard University Logo HARVARD.EDU
Skip to main content

The Latest from the BHI

Send Me News from BHI

Send Me News from BHI

BHI Fellows Reveal Strong Magnetic Fields Around the Supermassive Black Hole in M87

Two postdocs at the Black Hole Initiative, Freek Roelofs and Angelo Ricarte, have been involved in some groundbreaking results released today. Their measurements demonstrate the presence of spiraling light – or circular polarization – providing more conclusive evidence of strong magnetic fields around the supermassive black hole in the elliptical galaxy M87. The two papers […]

Read More

BHI Scientists Honored for Work on Photon Ring

BHI Colleagues, Black Hole Enthusiasts! It is an enormous pleasure to report that Michael Johnson and Alex Lupsasca have been awarded the New Horizons Physics Breakthrough Prize for their extraordinary work on the photon ring – light trapped in orbit around black holes – and their work showing how they can be detected with future […]

Read Announcement

Hawai’i Researchers Make Surprising Discovery Regarding S-star Orbits

A Hawaiʻi discovery through and through. Dr. Devin Chu of Hilo, an astronomer with the UCLA Galactic Center Orbits Initiative, has been…

Read Announcement

Black Hole Symphony

Black Hole Symphony is a symphonic journey through spacetime, performed by a live chamber orchestra under the Planetarium dome.

Read About the Event

See the Sharp New Image of an Iconic Black Hole

A few weeks ago, researchers created a sharper portrait of the supermassive black hole at the center of the galaxy M87—the first one that the Event Horizon Telescope imaged! Read the whole story behind this exciting discovery.

Read Article

Beyond the Horizon. Join us for the 6th Annual Black Hole Initiative Conference.

May 17-19, 2023

Sheraton Commander Hotel, Cambridge, MA USA

Crossing the horizons of Black Hole Studies from the perspective of Astrophysics, Physics, Mathematics, Philosophy, and History of Science. Featuring: Alejandro Castro, Andrew Cristofoli, Andrea Puhm, Andrew MacFayden, Ann C. Thresher, Caitlin Witt, Chris Akers, Daniel Harlow, Elena Giorgi, Eleni Kontou, Erin Kara, Jan Sbierski, Jeremy Butterfield, Jessica Lu, Kelly Holley-Bockelmann, Laura Cadonati, Lorenzo Sironi, Lynn Grimwell, Michael Johnson, Natalie Paquette, Roland Bittleston, Smander Naoz, Suvi Gezari, Vijay Balasubramanian, and more!